VALUES AND BELIEFS

OUR VALUES AND BELIEFS

(Note: COPA’s values and beliefs are presented randomly, not in order of importance or priority.)

Children’s Rights

(Note: The term « children » denotes any person under 18 years of age.)

COPA considers children to be a marginalized group in our society. Due to this generally unrecognized and unquestioned social status, children as a group are particularly vulnerable to assault.

Therefore all resources and activities created, developed, adapted and disseminated by COPA strive to recognize children’s marginalization and to advocate for their rights, particularly the right of each child to be “safe, strong and free”.

(Note: The term “safe, strong and free” is trademarked by COPA, appearing in all its programs and resources. It refers to the fundamental right of all human beings to live free from all forms of violence. Creators of the Child Assault Prevention (CAP) Project (Women Against Rape, see details below), COPA’s core program, conceived of this term as a tool for presenting the notion of rights and personal limits to young children, enabling them to engage in age-appropriate discussions about assault prevention that are adapted to their developmental level. The term is effective for use with all age groups including adults.)

Power Analysis

COPA believes that abuse of power is the basis of all situations involving assault. Lack of power links all forms of violence, whether it is verbal, sexual, physical, psychological, institutional or financial, whether it is perpetrated against a person or a group of people, or against a child, a woman or a member of any other marginalized social group.

It follows that lack of power – social or personal – underlies all situations involving assault, which is by definition an abuse of power.

Therefore all resources and activities created, developed, adapted and disseminated by COPA are based on a definition of assault informed by a feminist analysis of the power dynamics inherent in all forms and situations of assault.

Equity and Inclusion

COPA believes that all structures, institutions and relationships in our society are predicated upon inequity and social exclusion leading to the marginalization of children, women and other social groups. Inequity and exclusion are rooted in and perpetuated by a set of systemic, pervasive and discriminatory beliefs and practices.

Inequity and exclusion increase people’s vulnerability to assault, triggering and perpetuating a cycle of violence against children, women and all other marginalized social groups.

Strategies for assault prevention are only effective if they aim to promote equity and inclusion by facilitating the individual and collective empowerment of socially marginalized groups and individuals.

Therefore all resources and activities created, developed, adapted and disseminated by COPA are based on an anti-oppression approach. Such an approach recognizes the link between all forms of oppression and seeks to prevent assault through the promotion of social equity and inclusion of children, women and all other socially marginalized groups.

Intersecting layers of power and privilege

COPA recognizes that an individual can simultaneously identify with multiple social groups with different levels of social status. When this occurs, the individual experiences intersections between the varied layers of their power and privilege. The blending of multiple identities leads to an acutely personal experience that constructs that individual’s distinct identity. Experiencing multiple levels of oppression may also exacerbate an individual’s vulnerability to inequity and exclusion, particularly assault.

Therefore all resources and activities created, developed, adapted and disseminated by COPA strive to identify and recognize the specific lived experiences of all people. This involves listening to the voices of marginalized people in all their diversity and ensuring these voices are heard.

Factors of Vulnerability

COPA believes that certain social factors – such as a lack of information, dependence and isolation – make children and women (and all marginalized social groups) particularly vulnerable to assault.

Therefore all resources and activities created, developed, adapted and disseminated by COPA strive to reduce the vulnerability of children (and women, and members of all marginalized social groups) to assault. COPA promotes strategies that address these factors by facilitating their skill development, increasing their options, expanding their mobility and their ability to take action, providing information, encouraging peer support and expanding their personal and community resources. COPA’s strategies seek to reduce children’s vulnerability (and that of women and all marginalized group) at both an individual and a collective level.

(Note: This analysis of the social factors that increase the vulnerability to violence of members of marginalized social groups was originally developed by the group Women Against Rape in 1978 in Columbus, Ohio in the United States. This conceptual framework lays the foundation for the Child Assault Prevention (CAP) Project – COPA’s core program – and for the entire body of COPA’s programming and resources. The theory has remained as relevant, valid and applicable to this day as it was when originally created in 1978.)

Gender Diversity

COPA recognizes that people’s sexual orientations are diverse and the gender of every human being exists on a continuum.

Therefore all resources and activities created, developed, adapted and disseminated by COPA seek to include the lived experiences and realities of people of all sexual orientations and all forms of gender expression.

Power Dynamics Based on Sex and the Specificity of Sexist Violence

COPA recognizes that all people who identify as girls or women are exposed to a form of social marginalization based on sexism, a distinct and specific form of social inequity and exclusion. Sexism is the root cause of diverse manifestations of the inequity and exclusion of people who identify as girls or women, of which sexist violence is one example.

COPA recognizes the gravity of all forms of sexist violence, a reality that is perpetuated by secrecy and silence. COPA also recognizes that the form, nature, frequency and causes of sexist violence are distinct from those forms of violence that are perpetrated against other marginalized groups, as are the power dynamics at play.

Therefore the specific characteristics of sexist violence and the particular vulnerability of people who identify as girls or women are taken into consideration whenever resources and activities are created, developed, adapted and disseminated by COPA.

Child Sexual Assault Including Children Who Identify as Boys

COPA believes that children in all their diversity are vulnerable to sexual assault due to their marginalized social status. Child sexual assault is a hidden and underestimated reality. COPA also recognizes that sexual assault of children who identify as boys is particularly hidden and underestimated. Consequently, it is important to expose and shift this reality in order to break the cycle of violence and ensure that all children, including those who identify as boys, and all people, are safe, strong and free. By doing so, we foster the creation of healthy, equal relationships and environments.

Therefore COPA condemns sexual assault perpetrated against children in all their diversity – including those who identify as boys – and expends every possible effort to eliminate this form of assault.

Link Between Violence Against Children and Other Marginalized Social Groups

COPA believes there is a link between the causes and forms of violence against children and that of violence against women (and all socially marginalized groups). Consequently, COPA asserts that in order to prevent violence against children, it is necessary prevent violence against women (and all socially marginalized groups).

Therefore all resources and activities created, developed, adapted and disseminated by COPA strive to underscore the link between violence against children and women (and other socially marginalized groups) and the social factors that increase their vulnerability to violence.

The Cycle of Violence

COPA believes there is a cycle of violence increasing the likelihood that violence will be perpetuated from one generation to the next. The cycle can be attributed to a range of individual and social factors that maintain children and women (and all marginalized social groups) in vulnerable situations.

Therefore all resources and activities created, developed, adapted and disseminated by COPA aim to break the cycle of violence against children and women (and all marginalized social groups). The goal is to promote positive change through reflection, learning, skill and knowledge-building, by changing attitudes and beliefs, and by changing social structures that contribute to perpetuating the cycle of violence.

Empowerment

In order to prevent violence and promote the rights of children and all marginalized social groups, COPA advocates an approach that fosters their individual and collective empowerment. This approach highlights and validates the needs, skills, strengths and abilities of children, women and other marginalized social groups.

Therefore all resources and activities created, developed, adapted and disseminated by COPA aim to build children’s knowledge and to recognize and develop their abilities, as well as their individual and collective resources.

Community Mobilization

Fostering children’s ability to resist assault and engage in peer support are essential components of assault prevention. That said, COPA asserts that ultimately, children’s wellbeing remains the responsibility of adults – not only those who care for them, but all adults in our society. To this end, COPA is committed to encouraging and reinforcing adults’ motivation and to build their capacity to engage in child and teen assault prevention.

Therefore all resources and activities created, developed, adapted and disseminated by COPA aim to raise adults’ awareness while offering them tools and skills enabling them to recognize and alter the factors that perpetuate assault. COPA invites all members of the broader community to engage with child assault prevention efforts and initiatives in order to ensure that all children and all people can exercise their fundamental right to be “safe, strong and free”.

Francophone Reality

COPA identifies as a francophone organization, committed to ensuring the provision of French language services as a priority. This commitment is based on the recognition that historically, Franco-Ontarians were denied the right to thrive and develop fully as a social group, a right that is still denied to this day.

Therefore COPA maintains a Francophone identity and all resources and activities created, developed, adapted and disseminated by COPA seek to highlight and validate the strength, capacity and identity of Franco-Ontarian communities.

Diversity

COPA believes that by recognizing and celebrating diversity within communities throughout Ontario, we can break the cycle of violence predicated upon ignorance, hatred and fear of differences. A world where children (and all people) perceive differences as a source of richness is a world where each person can be “safe, strong and free”.

Therefore all resources and activities created, developed, adapted and disseminated by COPA strive to lessen fear and hatred of differences and to explicitly illustrate and express the value of differences in our society. This includes differences based on gender identity, age, physical appearance and ability, intellectual ability, sexual identity, ethnocultural origins, language, religion, socio-economic level and immigration or refugee status.

Accessibility to Services

COPA’s primary purpose is to promote feminist values and principles founded on strategies aimed at equity and inclusion. In the long term, COPA seeks to promote the rights and prevent the assault of children in all their diversity (and of all marginalized groups). To realize this vision, COPA always strives to hear children’s needs, to understand their lived experience and to respond adequately to these.

Therefore COPA takes all necessary measures and validates all steps aimed at ensuring that all members of society have access to its resources and can participate in its activities. COPA recognizes the value and importance of efforts at all levels of the organization to eliminate obstacles and ensure accessibility to its programs and resources in the community at large.

Feminist Leadership

COPA recognizes the contribution and the importance – historically, in the current context and in the future – of feminist activists in the child assault prevention movement.

Therefore COPA encourages the leadership of feminist activists in the struggle against sexist violence within the organization and in the delivery of services. COPA encourages partnerships with institutional and community services where the specific expertise of feminist activists in the areas of violence against women, its impacts on children and its prevention, is recognized.

VALEURS ET CONVICTIONS

NOS VALEURS ET CONVICTIONS

(Remarque : Le COPA présente ses valeurs et convictions de façon aléatoire et non en ordre de priorité ou d’importance.)

Les droits des enfants

Le COPA croit que les milieux discriminatoires provoquent et perpétuent l’abus du pouvoir qui crée et renforce les inégalités sociales. Ces inégalités, qui subsistent dans les croyances et les pratiques discriminatoires systémiques et répandues, s'enracinent à leur tour. Les groupes qui ont moins de pouvoir dans notre société deviennent ainsi plus vulnérables aux agressions, ce qui nuit à l’épanouissement de chaque individu.

(Remarque : Le terme « enfant » désigne toute personne de moins de 18 ans.)

Le COPA estime que les enfants constituent un groupe social marginalisé dans notre société. Ce statut, qui n’est généralement pas reconnu ou remis en question, rend ce groupe particulièrement vulnérable aux agressions.

Voilà pourquoi toutes les ressources et toutes les activités créées, mises au point, adaptées et diffusées par le COPA visent à reconnaître la marginalisation des enfants et à revendiquer leurs droits et, en particulier, le droit de chaque enfant « à la sécurité, à la force et à la liberté ».

(Remarque : Le terme « sécurité, force et liberté », étant une marque déposée par le COPA, se retrouve dans l’ensemble de ses programmes et de ses ressources. Il dénote le droit essentiel de tout être humain de vivre à l’abri de la violence sous toutes ses formes. Les créatrices du Projet ESPACE (voir ci-dessous) ont créé ce terme afin de présenter aux jeunes enfants la notion des droits et des limites personnelles permettant de discuter de prévention des agressions avec elles et eux de manière adaptée à leur stade de développement. Le terme convient à tous les groupes d’âge.)

L’analyse du pouvoir

Le COPA croit que l’abus du pouvoir est à la base de toute situation d’agression. Le manque de pouvoir constitue le fil conducteur qui relie toutes les formes d’agression, qu’il s’agisse d’agression verbale, sexuelle, physique, psychologique, institutionnelle ou financière infligée à une personne ou un groupe de personnes, que ce soit un.e enfant, une femme ou à tout autre groupe social marginalisé.

Il s’en suit que le manque de pouvoir - social ou personnel - est à la racine de toute situation d’agression, qui est par définition un abus de pouvoir.

Voilà pourquoi toutes les ressources et toutes les activités créées, mises au point, adaptées et diffusées par le COPA sont fondées sur une définition de l’agression, sous toutes ses formes, découlant de l’analyse féministe des dynamiques du pouvoir qui existent dans toute situation d’agression.

L’équité et l’inclusion

Le COPA croit que les structures, institutions et relations dans notre société sont fondées sur l’iniquité et l’exclusion sociale menant à la marginalisation des enfants, des femmes et d’autres groupes sociaux. L’iniquité et l’exclusion s’enracinent et subsistent dans les croyances et les pratiques discriminatoires systémiques et répandues.

L’iniquité et l’exclusion vécues par ces groupes sociaux marginalisés augmentent la vulnérabilité aux agressions de leurs membres, provoquant et perpétuant un cycle de violence contre les enfants, les femmes et tout autre groupe socialement marginalisé. Toute stratégie visant à prévenir les agressions n’est efficace que si elle vise à promouvoir l’équité et l’inclusion par la reprise du pouvoir personnel et collectif des personnes et des groupes sociaux marginalisés.

Voilà pourquoi toutes les ressources et toutes les activités créées, mises au point, adaptées et diffusées par le COPA sont fondées sur une approche anti-oppressive visant à reconnaître et à faire les liens entre toutes les formes d’oppression et à prévenir les agressions au moyen de la promotion de l’équité et de l’inclusion sociales des enfants, des femmes et de tout groupe social marginalisé.

Intersection des couches du pouvoir et de privilèges

Le COPA reconnaît qu’une personne peut simultanément s’identifier à de multiples groupes sociaux ayant différents statuts sociaux. Dans un tel cas, il y a une intersection entre les couches du pouvoir et de privilèges. Le fusionnement de multiples identités mène à une expérience personnelle distincte qui forge l’identité. L’accumulation des niveaux d’oppression peut également augmenter la vulnérabilité à l’iniquité et à l’exclusion, notamment aux agressions.

Voilà pourquoi toutes les ressources et toutes les activités créées, mises au point, adaptées et diffusées par le COPA visent à définir et à reconnaître la spécificité du vécu de toutes les personnes et à écouter et faire entendre les voix des personnes marginalisées dans toute leur diversité.

Les facteurs de vulnérabilité

Le COPA croit que certains facteurs sociaux - comme l'isolement, le manque d'information et la dépendance - rendent les enfants et les femmes (et toutes les personnes marginalisées) particulièrement vulnérables aux agressions.

Voilà pourquoi toutes les ressources et toutes les activités créées, mises au point, adaptées et diffusées par le COPA visent à réduire les facteurs de vulnérabilité chez les enfants (les femmes et les membres de tout groupe social marginalisé) en facilitant le développement de leurs capacités, en multipliant leurs options, en améliorant leur mobilité et leur capacité d’agir, en élargissant leurs connaissances et en augmentant leurs ressources personnelles, mutuelles et communautaires, et ce, sur le plan individuel et collectif.

(Remarque : Cette analyse des facteurs sociaux qui augmentent la vulnérabilité à la violence des groupes sociaux marginalisés a été développée à l’origine par le groupe « Women Against Rape » en 1978 à Columbus, Ohio aux États-Unis. Ce cadre conceptuel est à la base du Projet ESPACE - un programme de prévention des agressions contre les enfants - et de tous les programmes et de toutes les ressources du COPA. Cette théorie demeure toute aussi pertinente, valide et applicable aujourd’hui qu’elle l’était en 1978.)

La diversité de genre

Le COPA reconnaît qu’il existe une diversité en matière d’orientation sexuelle des personnes et que le genre de tout être humain existe sur un continuum.

Voilà pourquoi tous les programmes et toutes les ressources du COPA cherchent à inclure la réalité et le vécu des personnes de toutes orientations sexuelles et de toutes expressions de genre.

La dynamique du pouvoir selon le sexe et la violence sexiste

Le COPA reconnaît que toutes les personnes qui s’identifient comme filles ou femmes sont exposées à une marginalisation sociale fondée sur le sexisme, une forme d’iniquité et d’exclusion spécifique et distincte. Le sexisme est la cause profonde de diverses manifestations de l’iniquité et de l’exclusion à l’égard des personnes qui s’identifient comme filles ou femmes, la violence sexiste en étant un exemple.

Le COPA reconnaît la gravité de toutes les formes de violence sexiste, une réalité perpétuée par le secret et le silence qui l’entourent. Le COPA reconnaît également que la forme, la nature, la fréquence et les causes de la violence sexiste sont distinctes des formes de violence perpétrées contre d’autres groupes marginalisés, tout comme les dynamiques en jeu.

Voilà pourquoi toutes les ressources et toutes les activités créées, mises au point, adaptées et diffusées par le COPA tiennent compte des caractéristiques spécifiques de la violence sexiste et de la vulnérabilité particulière des personnes qui s’identifient comme filles ou comme femmes.

L’agression sexuelle contre les enfants, incluant ceux qui s’identifient comme garçons

Le COPA croit que les enfants dans toute leur diversité sont vulnérables à l’agression sexuelle en vertu de leur marginalisation en tant qu’enfants. L’agression sexuelle contre ces enfants est une réalité cachée et sous-estimée. Le COPA reconnaît également que l’agression sexuelle contre les enfants qui s’identifient comme garçons est particulièrement cachée et sous-estimée. Il est donc important d’exposer cette réalité et de la changer afin de briser le cycle de la violence et d’assurer la sécurité, la force et la liberté de tous les enfants, incluant ceux qui s’identifient comme garçons, et de tout le monde. De cette façon, on pourra favoriser l’établissement de relations et de milieux sains et égalitaires.

Voilà pourquoi le COPA dénonce l'agression sexuelle contre les enfants dans toutes leurs diversités - incluant ceux qui s’identifient comme garçons - et déploie tous les efforts possibles pour contrer ce genre d’agression.

Le lien entre l’agression contre les enfants et d’autres groupes sociaux marginalisés

Le COPA croit qu’il existe un lien entre les causes et les formes de violence que subissent les enfants et la violence perpétrée contre les femmes (et tous les groupes sociaux marginalisés). Il est donc nécessaire, selon le COPA, de lutter contre la violence faite aux enfants afin de prévenir la violence faite aux femmes (et à tous les groupes sociaux marginalisés).

Voilà pourquoi toutes les ressources et les activités créées, mises au point, adaptées et diffusées par le COPA visent à souligner le lien qui existe entre la violence vécue par les enfants et les femmes (et tous les groupes sociaux marginalisés) et les facteurs qui les rendent vulnérables.

Le cycle de la violence

Le COPA croit qu’il existe un cycle de la violence qui augmente la probabilité que la violence se perpétue d’une génération à l’autre. Ce cycle est attribuable à des facteurs individuels et sociaux qui maintiennent les enfants et les femmes (et tous les groupes sociaux marginalisés) dans des situations de vulnérabilité.

Voilà pourquoi toutes les ressources et les activités créées, mises au point, adaptées et diffusées par le COPA visent à briser le cycle de la violence contre les enfants et les femmes (et tous les groupes sociaux marginalisés). L’objectif est de promouvoir le changement positif par la réflexion, l’apprentissage, le développement de compétences et de connaissances, le changement d’attitudes et de croyances, et par le changement de structures sociales qui contribuent à perpétuer le cycle de la violence.

L’autonomisation

Pour prévenir la violence et promouvoir les droits des enfants et de tous les groupes sociaux marginalisés, le COPA prône une approche qui favorise leur autonomisation, tant sur le plan personnel que collectif. Cette stratégie met en valeur les besoins, les compétences et les capacités des enfants, des femmes et des autres groupes sociaux marginalisés.

Voilà pourquoi toutes les ressources et toutes les activités créées, mises au point, adaptées et diffusées par le COPA visent à augmenter les connaissances et à reconnaître et à développer les capacités et les ressources individuelles et collectives des enfants.

La mobilisation communautaire

La capacité des enfants à résister aux agressions et à s’offrir un soutien mutuel est essentielle à la prévention des agressions. Le COPA estime que l’épanouissement des enfants demeure la responsabilité ultime non seulement des adultes qui s’occupent des enfants, mais aussi de tous les adultes de la société. À cette fin, le COPA s’engage à renforcer l’engagement et la motivation des adultes et à élargir et améliorer leur capacité au sein des collectivités ontariennes à prévenir les agressions commises contre les enfants et les jeunes.

Voilà pourquoi toutes les ressources et toutes les activités créées, mises au point, adaptées et diffusées par le COPA visent à sensibiliser et à outiller les adultes pour les aider à reconnaître et à modifier les facteurs qui perpétuent l’agression. Le COPA incite la population à s’engager dans les efforts de prévention des agressions afin de veiller à ce que tous les enfants et toutes les personnes puissent exercer leur droit fondamental de vivre dans « la sécurité, la force et la liberté. »

La francophonie

L’identification du COPA en tant qu’organisme francophone et son engagement à assurer comme priorité l’offre de services en français sont basés sur la reconnaissance du fait qu’au cours de l’histoire, le droit au plein essor a été refusé aux Franco-Ontarien.ne.s, droit qui continue d’ailleurs d’être brimé.

Voilà pourquoi le COPA maintient une identité francophone et toutes les ressources et toutes les activités créées, mises au point, adaptées et diffusées par le COPA visent à mettre en valeur la capacité et l’identité des collectivités franco-ontariennes.

La diversité

Le COPA croit que c’est en reconnaissant et en célébrant la diversité au sein des collectivités partout en Ontario que l’on peut briser le cycle de la violence fondé sur l’ignorance, la haine et la peur des différences. Un monde dans lequel les enfants (et toutes les personnes) envisagent les différences comme étant une source de richesse est un monde dans lequel chaque personne peut vivre dans « la sécurité, la force et la liberté. »

Voilà pourquoi toutes les ressources et toutes les activités créées, mises au point, adaptées et diffusées par le COPA visent à diminuer la crainte et la haine des différences et à valoriser explicitement les différences dans la société, entre autres, les différences fondées sur l’identité de genre, l’âge, l’apparence et la capacité physique, les facultés intellectuelles, l’identité sexuelle, les origines ethnoculturelles, la langue, la religion, le niveau socioéconomique et le statut d’immigrant.e ou de réfugié.e.

L’accessibilité aux services

La principale raison d’être du COPA est de promouvoir les valeurs et les principes féministes à l’aide de stratégies visant l’équité et l’inclusion. À long terme, le COPA cherche à promouvoir les droits et à prévenir les agressions contre les enfants dans toute leur diversité (et contre toutes les personnes marginalisées). Afin de réaliser cette vision, le COPA s’efforce de toujours entendre les besoins de ces enfants, de comprendre leur vécu et d’y répondre adéquatement.

Voilà pourquoi le COPA prend toutes les mesures nécessaires et valorise les démarches visant à assurer à l’ensemble de la population l’accès à ses ressources et la participation à ses activités. Le COPA reconnaît la valeur des efforts déployés au sein de l’organisme, à tous les échelons, visant à éliminer les obstacles afin d’assurer l’accessibilité de ses programmes et ressources diffusés à l’extérieur de l’organisme.

Le leadership des intervenantes féministes

Le COPA reconnaît la contribution et l'importance – historiquement, dans le contexte actuel et à l’avenir - des intervenantes féministes dans le mouvement de prévention des agressions contre les enfants.

Voilà pourquoi le COPA encourage le leadership des intervenantes féministes dans la lutte contre la violence sexiste au sein de l’organisme et dans l’offre de ses services. Le COPA encourage l’établissement de partenariats entre des services institutionnels et communautaires où l'on reconnaît et respecte l'expertise particulière des intervenantes féministes dans les domaines de la violence contre les femmes, ses répercussions sur les enfants et sa prévention.